April 3, 2009 at 11:20 am Leave a comment

“Our constitution does not permit any branch of government to resolve these types of religious debates and entrusts to courts the task of ensuring government avoids them . .  . The statute at issue in this case does not prescribe a definition of marriage for religious institutions. Instead, the statute, declares, ‘Marriage is a civil contract’ and then regulates that civil contract . . . . Thus, in pursuing our task in this case, we proceed as civil judges, far removed from the theological debate of religious clerics, and focus only on the concept of civil marriage and the state licensing system that identifies a limited class of persons entitled to secular rights and benefits associated with marriage.”

Most people generally say they’re in favor of equal rights for homosexuals. Equal rights for housing, jobs,  government benefits…but then it seems like opinions get a little sketchy when it comes to marriage. Why is that? It really annoys me. I really think it boils down to close mindedness and overbearing religious sects. Part of the beauty with “Freedom of Religion” is that I have freedom FROM religion as well. I am free to support the church/belief of my choice, or even no religion at all. No belief system can be forced upon me. That is a great freedom. I, legally, can not persecuted for what I choose to believe. That is a great freedom. I can change my mind about what I believe. That is a great freedom. A fundamental human right.

I understand  opposition to gay marriage. I understand what the Bible says about homosexuality. I went to Catholic school, I went to very conservative Christian churches from age 14 on up…I have heard all of the sermons. But I still support the  separation of Church and State! Not so that my freedoms are limited,because they are protected!  Here’s an example of why I feel that way:

Sure, it sucks that we can’t say God in schools-because I happen to believe in God. Although I cannot say His name in the pledge of allegiance. But the Constitution is protecting my freedom of religion by doing so.  I wouldn’t want my kids being forced to say, “One nation, under Satan, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all…” because that would clearly go against my personal system of beliefs. Why should we force a Muslim, Hindu, Atheist, or Mormon child to conform to say things that go against theirs? ?

I like being married to Chad, and I cannot help the fact that I fell in love with him and found him attractive.

What if there was a religious doctrine that told me I was not allowed to marry a man over 6 feet tall? Even though I was clearly in love with him?  Even though all of my friends were getting married to men THEY loved and it was perfectly acceptable because their men were 5′ 10. Do they deserve happiness more than I? Do they deserve the right to marry the one they love more than I?

I would fight for my rights, and by golly…no goverment is going to base it’s laws off of a set of religious beliefs.

That’s my 2 cents.

Entry filed under: stuff.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The things we touch have no permanence. My master would say: there is nothing we can hold onto in this world. Only by letting go can we truly possess what is real. -Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Recent Posts:

Archives


