Day One: Hollywood Studios

February 16, 2009 at 11:10 am 1 comment

 

I was so nervous to fly…and so was Molly. She was in the bathroom while we were waiting to board, about to vomit becasuse of her nerves. But we made it to WDW safe and sound. I can’t say that I would ever like to fly again, but I am sure I will eventually. It’s just not the most encouraging after reading about the flight that crashed the same day we flew home. Sad…

Okay, onto the Disney stuff! I have posted photos on my flickr so you can browse through them. I am dissappointed in them from a photography standpoint because they are really nothing more than snap shots. Who has time to do anything but snap and run at Disney? It’s fast paced, especially when you only have 3.5 days to do it all in. But I am happy I took some anyway, and we have memories!

 

We went to Hollywood Studios on Day one. This park was full of fun things to do and I could spend hours just looking around without even going in any buildings or on any rides. But alas, we only had one day to see it all!

Our favorite ride in that park was the Rock-n-Roller Coaster, the Aerosmith ride. We didn’t get a fastpass for this ride, so we waited outside in the line for a while. Once we got into the building it was very cool. We were looking into the recording studio, where Aerosmith band dudes are “finishing a recording session.”, but really it’s a video you’re watching.  All of the sudden, the band manager rushes in to tell them them that they’re late for a concert. Steven Tyler is sad that we can’t come, so he orders us a stretch limo to hurry and catch the show. We leave the recording studio and hang out in line -which is  an alley into a parking garage. Finally, we get in the limo. We’re parked at the mouth of a tunnel. Music is blaring and you are looking at a huge “interstate” warning sign that says all sorta funny things to make me nervous as heck. Then it counts down and we are SHOT into the DARK tunnel at like 60 miles an hour (I looked it up and we went 0 to 60 miles per hour in 2.8 seconds!! That’s 4.5g‘s-more than an astronaut does on a space shuttle launch. ) Holy smokes, if you can tell by our faces…it was insane. Then we go upside down in corkscrews 3 times and wind all around the place…The scenery is of the L.A. freeway and the only thing you can see are street signs whizzing by. At the end you’re dropped off at the red carpet. And you’re out of breath! Here is a photo they took of us:

There is so much more we did, but I’d have to sit here all day explaining it so go check out my flickr. 

I didn’t get to see Indiana Jones show or the American Idol show but there’s always another time! If you want to take a look at my flickr photos, you can see all of the fun stuff we did while we were there. At the end of the day, we saw “Mickey’s Fantasmic” which was the highlight, for me. It brought tears to my eyes because it was done so well and it was very magical!

After that, we went back to the hotel and CRASHED!

Highlights of the day:

  •  “Lights, Motors, Action! Stunt Show
  • “Honey I Shrunk the Kids” play area
  • The Magic of Disney Animation show
  • Star Tours
  • Muppet 3-D vision show
  • Mickey’s Fantasmic
  • lots of other things I have to look at the brochure to recall.
  • Expensive food
  • Hot sun
  • Palm trees
  • lots of laughs

 

I’ll post about day 2, Animal Kingdom (our favorite day), in my next entry. Stay tuned!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: stuff.

Disney details

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. TracyR  |  February 16, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Shaw’s face in that one ride shot is FUNNY! Did he like them? Or was he freaked out?

    Love the Star Wars stuff. Noah would love that too.

    Looks like a great Day 1!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The things we touch have no permanence. My master would say: there is nothing we can hold onto in this world. Only by letting go can we truly possess what is real. -Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Recent Posts:

Archives


