The job

February 2, 2009 at 8:07 pm 3 comments

 

A little history first:

 

My brother and sister-in-law had a baby on April 1st. His name is Carson and he is a special little dude. After a very long June-November, he was diagnosed with Nemaline Rod Myopathy. Basically, he has irregular muscle cells, with rod-like structures in them. He seemed fine at birth but his symptoms began to show soon afterward, like the hypotonia (floppy arms, neck, legs) and not being able to hold his head up, feeding trouble etc. In July, he was in the hospital for a week with what the Dr’s thought were Botulism-like symptoms and he was sent home after an insanely expensive antidote was given…he seemed to be getting better ,but progressing very slowly. Then in October, he got sick with a cold and ended up in the hospital for 30+ days. See, he doesn’t have the ability to clear his throat, cough productively…so when he got this cold they knew something was just not right. He was turning ashy and had severe breathing difficulty. So, after a very long stay in the NICU and a lot of testing, they gave him the diagnosis of Rod Myopathy. They won’t know the severity of his type until he’s older and milestones have or haven’t been hit. Their goal is to have him sitting unassisted by the time he is 1. He has a G-tube , night time ventilation, medicines, therapy and so on. There is no cure for this and although it is a sad circumstance, we all love my nephew and he is a little glimmer of sunshine through all of this.

 

So, onto the job part of this post.

My brother-in-law works with Chad, at the paper mill. He works a rotating schedule of days and overnights. My sister-in-law works as an underwriter for a major insurance company in Cedar Rapids. On New Year’s Eve, Carson got dropped from their insurance , I am unsure of the details because I am not an office gal.  Before this, they had nursing care during the night so they could get sleep for their jobs. And nursing care for the days that my brother-in-law was working his day shifts (which is not a typical 5 day work week, he is home a lot) . This nursing care got cut in half leaving them with no care during the day. After much stress, they decided that they would put an ad in the paper for daytime help. After weeks of waiting with nothing panning out, my sister-in-law reluctantly put her 2 week notice in and just threw in the towel. She didn’t want to lose her job. As much as she would love to stay home-it helps to keep her a little grounded and away from the stress -which she needs. We aren’t all made to be stay-at-homers. Yet, she couldn’t see any other option. Then they got a glimmer of hope when a lady called about the ad in the paper 3 days before her notice was up at work. This fell through within 24 hours.  That is when I called my mother-in-law for an unimportant reason. We got to talking about their situation. Keep in mind, I knew all of this was going on, minus one big detail. They had placed an ad for a nanny, not a nurse. They were willing to train someone to care for him and my sister-in-law would work from home (for peace of mind and being right there).
When my mother-in-law told me this I was like, “Why didn’t anyone tell me???? I can be a nanny!” She told me that they had wanted ME all along-they had hit me up when he was in utero, before they knew the outcome of his disability, but I was working at the time  and declined.  But they never asked after all of this because they felt like it would be imposing a burden on me,  because I was busy with my own kids and have been looking for a job. However, I told them they were nuts. This would not be an “easy” job but very rewarding!  I had been applying at daycares all over the place  so it’s not a far shot from what I wanted to do, anyway. After we hung up, I called my sister-in-law and told her that I would do this for them. She was in shock, a mess of emotions and a major roller coaster week had taken it’s toll on her. They called me back later and told me that she’d rushed to her boss and asked to revoke her notice and they decided to give her a 6 week leave of absence instead. So she can get recharged and put her ducks in a row. And hopefully, I’m a duck!  So….when I get back from Florida, we’re going to all sit down and work out a schedule and get to talking about this.

Entry filed under: stuff.

Happy it’s Monday lucky.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TracyR  |  February 2, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Awww…what a great story! And what an awesome thing for you to do! I’m sure it will all work out perfectly. 🙂

    I’ve been wondering about little Carson.

    Reply
  • 2. kala  |  February 3, 2009 at 2:35 am

    hi
    i am in search of night time job.full time

    Reply
  • 3. Emilie Gérard  |  February 3, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Oh wow!! You are such a generous and beautiful person inside and out, Miranda!!! My niece had Muscular Spinal Atrophy (a kind of myopathy too) and I know that a nanny is very important for such special kids. (((HUGS)))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The things we touch have no permanence. My master would say: there is nothing we can hold onto in this world. Only by letting go can we truly possess what is real. -Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Recent Posts:

Archives


