Random facts about right now-in no particular order

January 26, 2009 at 9:33 pm 2 comments

  1. Tonight I pulled my erector spinae muscle demonstrating a double wrist tie-up on Shaw. Believe me, he had it coming too! Now I am a little achy and understand why Dan Gable had a double hip replacement in the 90s. Wrestling wrecks body parts. But as far as Shaw’s wrestling career is going: good. He leave a little to be desired though. He believes that his shear strength is enough to win matches. Right now it’s working, but I really wish he’d tighten up on technique a little. However, he did pull a successful granby roll yesterday and pinned a kid. And, on the flipside of that same coin, he also blew a very tight match by ignoring his coach-chose the down position instead of the suggested neutral, tried the granby again and got stuck. Lost by points, but not a pin. He wrestles next weekend in Lisbon. I am nervous for the both of us because that’s our old home-town and it makes me a nervouse wreck knowing I have to sit there among many people I would like to hide from. Partly because I am embarrassed, and partly because I am relieved that I am away from it all and it sucks going back and re-thinking things that happenned in the past and people who used to be friends but aren’t anymore.
  2. Although it is 8:00pm, I felt like something warm and soothing so I am drinking a freshly brewed pot of Casi Cielo coffee from Starbucks. It mean’s “Almost Heaven”, and I would have to somewhat agree. Usually I drink bold espresso but I wanted to try something new and it’s not too bad.  It has a bit of a lemony taste to it.
  3. I have been thinking a lot about our upcoming trip to Florida. It will be a trip of many “firsts” for me. First plane ride, first time seeing the ocean (we hope to drive to the coast and see it anyway), my first time going to the east coast in general, our first family vacation. My first time in an airport-well, sorta. I went once to pick up a friend. My first time wearing spring clothes in January without freezing my ass off (hopefully).
  4. I am still looking for a job. For some reason, this is taking forever. Granted, I am not going at a break neck pace either. I am taking my time, and nobody’s hiring.
  5. We are still looking for houses. We aren’t officially going to sell our trailer or see Realtors until late summer, but we keep looking for an exceptional deal that might make us jump a little sooner. I am being a little picky though. I want a lot of room. I want an attached garage. I want a finished (or unfinished but ready to finish) basement with a walk out and daylight windows. I want at least 3 bedrooms. I want a nice open floor plan. I want a fireplace. Chad wants a huge garage. And I want a nice sized lot so I don’t feel cramped. I want it to be in a nice area, preferably in the College Community school district. Is that so much to ask? Come on people! Oh, and I want new windows and a new roof. I won’t make that mistake twice….new windows are a must.
  6. Chad is gone playing poker tonight. He does this all winter long with his work buddies. He actually doesn’t fair to badly. Usually comes home on the positive side and that’s always nice.
  7. Chad’s birthday is on Saturday. We have that wrestling tournament I spoke about earlier. Hopefully that doesn’t ruin his birthday because he isn’t fond of going back to our old town much either.
  8. Chad is also over the moon because his favorite football team has yet again made it to the Super Bowl. I can honestly say I’ve watched almost all of their games this season, so I am excited too. It took a lot of patience, but I know he likes me to watch them with him, and that makes me happy when he’s happy. We just can’t agree on where we will watch the game. We have a high definition tv, and we get HD programming through our satellite company but the local channels through them are not yet available in HD. An easy fix would be to  watch it over-the-air in HD, but we get a shoddy signal and don’t own an antenna-because we have a satellite! Times like this make me wish we weren’t such entertainment geeks. So, we are debating between watching it at his brothers on a 65 inch HDTV, or at my brother’s house on a 50 inch HDTV. I vote for my brother’s because the atmosphere is so much more comfy for me. Chad’s family is admirable, but they are just not as close knit as my family is.
  9. Shaw is searching for a band-aid and hoping I don’t hear him. That’s what you get for trying to run a marathon BEHIND your sister, on a TREADMILL, BAREFOOT. Sheesh. Did I mention that he needs to work on technique?

Au Revoir, mes amies!

Entry filed under: stuff.

Books So you had a bad day…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannon  |  January 27, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    There is a lot in there for me to talk about. You totally lost me with all the wrestling lingo. I know I live in a wrestling town, but growing up in CR wrestling was where they put the worst cheerleaders and was the least attended winter sport. Even girl’s basketball had a bigger audience. But I’m glad to see Shaw doing it and doing good. Technique will come with time, practice and possibly losing.
    Next since you are going to be at Lisbon CALL ME!!!! I will come over and sit with you to chat and watch Shaw.
    You will love the ocean or the gulf which ever side you decide to go to. My first plane ride and first time seeing the ocean was on my honeymoon and we went to Mytrle Beach. I loved it! Which is why we are moving south and somewhere near and ocean when Darryl retires. I’m also pushing the children to find jobs around that area as well.
    So please call me since you will be in town, I would love to see ya. Also would Molly like to come over and hang out with Alivia???

    Reply
  • 2. Miranda  |  January 27, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Yeah, Molly would love that!
    As of this moment, I am not going to sign Shaw up to wrestle in Lisbon after tonight’s practice. However, I am going to think about it overnight and see how I feel and he feels about it tomorrow only because it’s a big tourny and I have relatives coming to watch him. But, even if he doesn’t wrestle, I may still go and watch my nephew wrestle (if he decided to although Shaw may not)…
    If I don’t go, then I’ll still call you and we can chat at Brueggers or Starbucks, or my nasty trailerhood. Hahaha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The things we touch have no permanence. My master would say: there is nothing we can hold onto in this world. Only by letting go can we truly possess what is real. -Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Recent Posts:

Archives


