Baby Carson is ok!

July 13, 2008 at 4:33 pm 2 comments

Here is an excerpt from an email I got a few days ago that is sort of a summary (well, like cliff notes version) of what Carson has been going through. This is from Brandy, his mom:

 

Carson was admitted to the hospital on Friday the 4th.  On Saturday he had an MRI that was normal.  Blood was drawn to look at the typical numbers and that was normal.  Not much could be done on Sunday but did take a stool sample for testing.  On Monday, he had an EMG.  Everything showed normal except the test for botulism was borderline abnormal.  The neurologist said this was all she needed to start jumping through the hoops to get the special medication called BabyBIG.  We will not know for sure if he has the disease until we get the test results from the stool sample, but this medication would be given anyway due to his symptoms and the EMG results.  The reason they don’t wait is because it could take some time to get the results.  The way I understand it, it needs to be injected into an animal to see if that animal gets the same symptoms.

So, I talked to Brandy on Sunday and she had GREAT news. Carson’s tests came back positive for infant botulism!! I never would have thought I’d be saying that with such excitement-but seriously, that is great news. Much better than having Anterior Horn Cell Disease or any of the other things it could have been with those symptoms. So, YAY! Thank you so much for your prayers, and if you have it in you for more, please pray that he heals up well! This BabyBIG medicine will stay in his system for up to 3 months. Medicine  which , by the way,  costed $45,000 dollars. Yes, that’s no error…45 grand! Thank God for insurance, right? So, little Carson is on his way to recovery. They have no idea how he could have gotten in but the public health will probably want to investigate and see. Chris does work in a nasty enviornment and could have had spores on his skin…but who really knows.

Other updates:

No internet yet. They come on Tuesday to fix my cable lines. Yay! And Hello Refund!

My hard drive crashed anyway so I couldn’t do much with or without my internet. I did however buy a shiny new laptop though. And it’s pretty!

Chad and I are about to chaulk off the last few Home impovements on our list.

Ceramic tile in the bathroom and laundry room: check. Does Miranda ever want to touch a grout float again? No. But it’s beautiful and I’ll take photos when I am back online. My hubby did such a good job, and you’ll want to hire him as soon as you see how meticulous he was with the cutting. We just have to do the trim and it’s over, baby!

Longer HDMI cables for our flat screen TV, so they can hide inside the walls: Check. Those babies were PRICY. But now you don’t see any wire going down the wall to the components! Pretty.

The last thing we have on our list is updating the deck. It currently has turned spindles and looks way too country for me. So, we’re replacing all of the railings, putting a nice ledge for alcoholic beverages  and giving it a facelift with some stain.

And that’s about it. I’m still reading your blogs but haven’t had enough ‘net time to comment.

Don’t forget about me!

Entry filed under: stuff.

Update, and prayer request The Internet…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. keri  |  July 13, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    wow woman..thought you had been swallowed by the trailer park montser 🙂 Glad to hear the baby will be better soon.

    Reply
  • 2. Shannon  |  July 15, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Miranda- I got your message and sorry I have not called you back 😦
    It sounds like things are still crazy in your life and you have a lot of others needing you right now.
    I ran the Mt.Vernon 5k, but was a little sad that you were not there with me.
    I loved having you to walk with.
    I’m glad they found out what was wrong with Carson. I will continue to pray for him and Brandy and just everything involved when your child is in the hospital.
    I would love to get together sometime…..think about visiting us at the pool or we could do a CR pool date.
    E-mail me when you are up and running again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The things we touch have no permanence. My master would say: there is nothing we can hold onto in this world. Only by letting go can we truly possess what is real. -Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Recent Posts:

Archives


