Thoughts about my girl-child

May 21, 2008 at 12:00 pm 1 comment

I don’t write a lot about Molly. I don’t write enough. I have been beating myself up about this for the whole morning, so I thought I’d just come here and get it all out so I can flap my wings and be rid of this craziness. Do you have more than one child? And is one of those children more “easy” to deal with than the other? Molly is my easy child. So easy, in fact, that she gets put aside a lot because I know she won’t protest. My other child is so demanding and such an attention seeker and drains all of my energy keeping up with him. And then there is sweet Molly. She never complains. She is rarely in a foul mood. She is so mild. Molly is so freaking smart-she has been reading well above her grade level all year long and has only missed 2 words on her spelling pre-tests ALL year. When you get 100% on the Monday pretest-you get to do the challenge words instead of the regular list. This week was one of those weeks that she missed a word. And it really broke her heart. She wrote “knot” instead of “cannot”. It sounded to her like the actual word “knot” when said with a non-silent “K”, instead of “cannot”. It’s sorta funny, actually. Poor thing. She slid into her seat and that was the first thing she said to me about her day. And the thing that really gets me teary eyed, was because she said it with a sweet smile on her face-as if she wasn’t deserving of any pity. She just wanted me to know. But I know it bothers her a lot. So…that is an example of how sweet she is.

She is so friendly, too. Not friendly in the same way as bubbly, outgoing, social butterflies are, though. She’s actually pretty quiet and calm. She is friendly in the way that she doesn’t exclude ANY one child, she is very compassionate and shows empathy for kids. She was selected by the guidance counselor, and her teacher, to be in a “friendship group” on Wednesday afternoons. This group is for kids who are shy and have trouble making friends, or showing leadership qualities. I was not surprised at first to hear that she was asked to join because she is quiet, but when I asked her teacher why she was selected I was pleasantly surprised to hear that it was because she IS so compassionate and warm and has a knack for befriending anyone.

I love her.

She sat on the edge of my chair this morning giving me a cuddle and I was too absorbed in my email to worry about what she was thinking. I wish I could rewind and show her how grateful I am that she is so loving. I’ll have to make it up to her tonight when she’s home.

I don’t want her to grow up feeling like the invisible child, yet I am so thankful that she has been so low-maintenance and pleasant to be around. Even if she’s unhappy, she remains so even keel about it that I worry about her sometimes. I wonder what is going on in her head.

Anyways…I am glad I got all of that down. Does anyone else have one of these kids?

Here’s my girl…she asked me to take a snap of her in this dress which she LOVES. I took this April:

And here is an art project she brought home after it was displayed in the gallery at school (my kinda girl)

Entry filed under: stuff.

Blogger’s Block Girls on the Run

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Candy  |  May 22, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    I think that it is awesome that you recognize her for all the good qualities that she has! And I am sure that she knows how much you love her and value her! 🙂
    Her artwork is beautiful- that is so cool!!!
    P.S. Thanks for the comment on my blog! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The things we touch have no permanence. My master would say: there is nothing we can hold onto in this world. Only by letting go can we truly possess what is real. -Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Recent Posts:

Archives


