Photos, toothless giggles…

May 1, 2008 at 11:35 am 2 comments

Trust me, there is a perfectly logical reason for my wierd title.

I smiled this morning when my blog dashboard greeted me so nicely:

“You have no spam in your queue. Must be your lucky day

What a nice way to wake up, right? Much better than the unrest we’ve been having around here. I have one kid who has all of the sudden become “Butt-head-argue-pants” , and another who is becoming aware that boys can be cute sometimes. Sometimes. Like in about 10 years-that would be a more perfect time, kid.

Instead of hearing “It’s your lucky day”, I hear things like:

“I WANT Beeferoni for breakfast”

or

“Why CAN’T I bring my toy box to school? ”

or

“I love “so-and-so”, He’s nice.” *gasp*

Ahhhhhh. The only conclusion I have is that they’re growing up. I knew that would happen but it is so weird to all of the sudden realize that they’re almost as tall as you, AND they can win a good debate.

Other interesting things going on today:

I have a pile MOUNTAIN of totes to go through today. At least 2 of them are full of scrapbooks and family photos. Photos that are only going to take my face and rub it into the fact that I mentioned above. Kids grow up. It seems like just yesterday when they looked like this:

and this

I am going to need a box of Kleenex when I am sitting there.

On the funny side of things:

I just had the funniest conversation over the phone. Disclaimer: It may be one of those “had to be there” moments. And it may offend someone.

I just got off the phone with a friend who just cracked me up. I was telling her a story and she interjected with the most timely question

“Did they have any teeth?”

So, I’ll tell you the story I was telling her on the phone:

There are lots of kids here in this trailer village. More kids than my own kids are acclimated to having around. In order for me to relax and not be overbearing, I like to meet the parents or at least have an idea of who each child belongs to.

So, yesterday a few boys came around to play with Shaw. They are very nice kids from what I’ve learned so far. They’re respectful and seem to have good heads on their shoulders. They came over and played PS3 with Shaw for a while. I asked them if their parents’ knew where they were and if it was okay that they were inside our house. They said it was okay and their parents’ trusted them. But, to make sure, as they were leaving, I told them a that I’d like to meet their parents sometime. So I could scope them out and let them know that I am a normal responsible adult and they’re kids are welcome here.

About an hour later the door knocks. It’s the little boy . I said “Hi?”, wondering if he was lost or something. He said, “Hi, you said you wanted to meet my parents, right?”

I said “Yeah…”

“Well, here they are!”, he hollered and pointed down the sidewalk to his mom and dad who were standing in the driveway.

Um, ok. So I felt like I was going to an interview and it was WAY too formal for me. Chad and I went out and greeted them and we all chatted for a little while. My thoughts so far are that they’re pretty nice, down to earth, and rational human beings. I could see us having bbqs and looking after eachother’s kids, maybe. But that is just a first impression.

And this is the part where my friend asks me-on the phone a few minutes ago,
” Well, did they have teeth?”
And I lost it. I am trying so hard to not label people, but I joke around about living in a trailer court -just for fun, sometimes. I am aware of the stereotypes about people who live in trailer courts. I know they are just that, stereotypes. But what made me double over was her timing with that “meant to be a joke” question, because I was about to tell her what happenned next in the story.

While I was standing there with these parents and their 2 kids, the bolder – youngest kid asked me, “Are your teeth real?”

WHAT in the HECK?

“Yep, they’re real” I said with a giggle.

“Well my mom’s are fake. She doesn’t have any teeth.” He said with a grin on his face.

OH MY HEAVENS. I could have just hid behind a tree. Seriously? It was awkward and hard to not laugh at the time.

I had no idea what to say! What DO you say? LOL

I just said “Well, I am sure I’ll be in the same position at some point, too.”

Oh my gosh, it was funny.

So, when my friend on the phone asked me that I about had to hang up and go pee my pants.

Ok, so I suppose you had to be there. And I hope everyone understands that I am not trying to be rude. I am just sharing a giggle. And I truly enjoyed chatting with them and getting to know them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Paula messed up Ho hum day and Hypnotism

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tritter429  |  May 5, 2008 at 11:03 am

    For the record, it was “Did they have ALL their teeth?” 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Miranda  |  May 6, 2008 at 7:48 am

    LMAO, ok…I mistranslated a tad…but seriously? That was hilarious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The things we touch have no permanence. My master would say: there is nothing we can hold onto in this world. Only by letting go can we truly possess what is real. -Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Recent Posts:

Archives


