Pondering my “style”

May 19, 2007 at 8:12 pm 3 comments

I’ve been doing a little reading up on my Brian Peterson Books, namely-“Learning to See Creatively” and it’s got me thinking about expanding my horizons a little bit. His little blurb was about mastering the principles of design:

Gather up about eighty of your images, preferably those without people in them. (If you cannot find eighty people-free images, gather up eighty images with people in all of them.) Set them aside for a moment, and take a sheet of blank paper and draw six columns on it. At the top of each column, list one of the following: line, shape, form, texture, pattern, and color. Now begin looking at you pictures, one by one, with a critical eye. Carefully study each one and make a check mark in the columns that best describe the elements that dominate the composition…

Both the content and the arrangement of your pictures reveal something about your psyche-assuming, of course, that your reason for taking pictures flows from your own feelings and responses to the world around you , and isn’t simply an attempt at duplicating someone else’s style.

The end goal being to have an fairly even amount of checks in the columns, and to work on those columns with little or no checks-they’re weaknesses.

So, I browsed my gallery really quickly. Didn’t make the list out or anything yet, but I can already tell that I need to step BACK and get more than head shots!!! GAHHH!! I like head shots! But I need to get more in my frame. Yes, I do.

So, that is what I am going to be working on. I guess it comes from that part of my psyche that doesn’t like clutter. My scrapbook pages are the same way. Simple and clean. My photos are that way, simple and clean. But sometimes you have to try new things, eh?

Have a good day, world!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I would like to thank the academy… Feeling Comical?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. angelbq  |  May 19, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Neat idea. I love Bryan Peterson. I bought Understanding Exposure a while ago and I started reading the first chapters and I loved it. Too bad time is so scarce for me. I really want to be able to practice and absorb when I am reading it and time is a luxury nowadays. Anyway thanks again for the tips 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Pascaline  |  May 21, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks a lot …Funny freebie, if you want I’ve got a little freebie for you on my blog!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Nancy P  |  May 22, 2007 at 1:28 am

    Way cool alphabet! Such an original idea! I love them! Thank you so much for this very nice gift!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The things we touch have no permanence. My master would say: there is nothing we can hold onto in this world. Only by letting go can we truly possess what is real. -Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon

Recent Posts:

Archives


